© 2023 WUGA | University of Georgia
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Collins and Clyde voted to keep McCarthy in office before Speaker’s oust

Nathan Howard

United States Representatives Mike Collins and Andrew Clyde voted no in removing Kevin McCarthy as Speaker of the House on Tuesday afternoon. However, their votes fell in the minority, as House Democrats and eight House Republicans voted yes to ousting McCarthy in a historic 216-210 vote.

In January, Collins, Clyde and eighteen other Republican House members opposed McCarthy’s initial speaker bid for multiple rounds of voting that spanned days. Five of the eight Republicans who voted to oust McCarthy on Tuesday were a part of that group.

A successful vote to remove the Speaker of the House has never occurred in American history and no business can occur on the House floor until a new speaker is chosen.

Related Content