WUGA Election 2018 Coverage

Coverage of the May 22, 2018 primary elections.

In a sweep that surprised many, Tabitha Johnson-Green easily defeated candidates Chalis Montgomery and Richard Dien Winfield in the Democratic primary for the 10th congressional district on Tuesday.

Both Montgomery and Winfield conceded via their official candidate Facebook pages on Wednesday.

Montgomery said she was not disappointed in the outcome of the primary. “We truly did make history, running two women for a seat that has gone uncontested for ages.”

Athens-Clarke County Commission Results

May 23, 2018

In the Athens-Clarke County District 1 Commissioner race, Patrick Davenport comfortably defeated Sharyn Dickerson by a margin of 58 to 42 percent. 

In the second district special election, Mariah Parker narrowly defeated Taylor Pass by a 50 to 49 margin; just 13 votes separated the two candidates. 

No such narrow victory in District 3, as Melissa Link defeated Tony Eubanks 71 to 29. 

In District 5, a runoff was avoided, with Tim Denson beating out the incumbent Jared Bailey and Danielle Benson with 51 percent of the vote. 

Local Incumbents Upset in Clarke, Madison, Oglethorpe

May 23, 2018

Several ACC incumbents lost their bids for re-election last night. In a race which spanned Athens-Clarke and Oconee Counties, public defender Lisa Lott won election to the Superior Court bench, defeating Regina Quick.

Incumbent ACC Commissioner Sharyn Dickerson lost her re-election bid to challenger Patrick Davenport in a surprising upset. Dickerson, who herself defeated an incumbent in 2014 to win her seat, lost to Davenport 58% to 42%.

And, District 5 Commissioner Jared Bailey lost his seat in a three-way race, when challenger Tim Denson won with over 50% of the vote.

Reaction from Athens-Clarke County Mayoral Candidates

May 23, 2018
Photo courtesy Jeanne Davis

The results are in the Athens-Clarke county mayor’s race and there will be no runoff. With 100% of the vote in, Commissioner Kelly Girtz won with just over 60% of the vote.

He spoke with WUGA at his victory celebration Tuesday night.

It feels fantastic to have gotten such overwhelming support from people in this town that I love so much,” Girtz said. “We were on message, we were positive, we were forward-focused, we were honest, we were warm, we were engaging and collectively, all those things yielded success.”

The Athens-Clarke County Board of Elections reports that over 6000 people have voted today as of early this afternoon. Combined with roughly 6500 early in-person votes and mailed ballots, turnout has already exceeded primary turnout in 2014, which was just over 12000, and 2010, which was roughly 10000.

Polls close statewide at 7PM, and the numbers reported could increase substantially before voting ends, because polling locations often see a surge of voters after 5PM. According to WUGA’s turnout models, total turnout may exceed 18000 voters.