tim denson


Athens-Clarke County commissioners voted 7 -1 to move ahead with a local eviction relief program at a special called session on Tuesday. The creation of that program has been a topic of discussion and debate at several commission meetings in recent months. In late August, commissioners voted to issue a request for proposals for a nonprofit agency to manage the potential program. Only one agency, Athenian First Development Corporation, responded to the RFP.


Athens-Clarke County Commissioners expressed frustration and dismay with the local redistricting process at their work session on Tuesday. Many of the concerns laid out by local lawmakers revolved around the process and the very short timeline.

Eviction relief program's future uncertain

Sep 20, 2021

The future of a community/government partnership to alleviate evictions in Athens-Clarke County may be in jeopardy, as the program faces a key vote tomorrow.

Last month, Commissioners voted to issue a request for proposals, looking for an agency partner to work with the Magistrate Court, tenants, and landlords to institute an eviction relief program. The goal set by Commissioners was to vote tomorrow night on a partner, with the program starting on October 1.

ACC Government

The Athens-Clarke County Mayor and Commission are set to meet tomorrow for their regular voting session, with a long agenda in front of them. One item that isn’t scheduled for a vote however, is an eviction relief plan that several Commissioners have been advocating for.

ACC Commission approves new budget

Jun 16, 2021
Commissioner Mariah Parker's proposal for a public garden project is part of the FY 2022 budget taking effect today.
Photo: ACC Government

Athens-Clarke County Commissioners voted 7 – 3 to pass the county’s budget last night at a special session. Commissioners walked into Tuesday’s meeting with not one, but three budget proposals to evaluate – Mayor Kelly Girtz’s proposed budget, as well as two Commission-defined options – one from District 2 Commissioner Mariah Parker and the other from Commissioners Mike Hamby, Ovita Thornton, and Allison Wright.