© 2023 WUGA | University of Georgia
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Winter Weather Hits Georgia, Wind Chill for Athens


Wintry weather is slamming Southeast Georgia. The Savannah airport is closed due to snow caused by a system moving up the coast. Forecasters say the city is expected to get more than 3 inches of snow and sleet.  The Georgia Department of Transportation is tackling what it describes as a major icing event in Southeast Georgia.

Georgia DOT crews are treating roads, bridges, overpasses and reported travel areas with gravel, salt, and brine during the extreme ice event in the area. The department is encouraging drivers to avoid any unnecessary travel, especially along the I-95 corridor and at the I-95 and I-16 interchange. Many roads were reported to be icy, slick, and unsafe.

The National Weather Service has issued a Winter Storm Watch for all of Southeast Georgia and Governor Deal has issued a State of Emergency for nearly 30 counties in the region. The system, which could turn into a “bomb cyclone” is also bringing snow to Tallahassee, Florida for the first time in nearly three decades. A winter storm warning extends from Florida’s Gulf Coast all the way up the Atlantic Coast.


The National Weather Service has issued a hazardous weather outlook for much of north and central Georgia. A wind chill advisory is in effect for the area tonight and into Thursday, generally along and north of a line from Franklin to Fayetville to Gainsville. Wind chills of 5 above to near 10 below are expected in the advisory tonight. It includes Athens-Clarke, Barrow, Jackson, Madison, Oconee, and Oglethorpe counties.  

A wind chill advisory will continue into Thursday morning for much of north Georgia.

Governor Deal has declared a State of Emergency for the following counties beginning today, January 3 and expiring on January 5 at 11:59 p.m. for: Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Brantley, Bryan, Bulloch, Camden, Candler, Coffee, Charlton, Chatham, Clinch, Echols, Effingham, Evans, Glynn, Jeff Davis, Lanier, Lowndes, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Pierce, Screven, Tattnall, Toombs, Ware and Wayne counties.

Related Content