© 2024 WUGA | University of Georgia
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Clarke County School District announces Teacher, Support Person of the Year


The Clarke County School District has announced the recipients for the Teacher of the year award and the Support Person of the year award.

The Teacher of the Year award went out to Jakelyn Spencer from Cleveland Road Elementary. She received her Master of Science in Special Education from the University of Georgia, and now teaches third grade. Spencer participates in many additional boards and programs for the district, like the Local School Governance Team and Teacher Advisory Board.

“Nothing makes me happier than watching my students flourish and be successful,” said Spencer.

Lauren Cunningham received the Support Person of the Year award for her 22 years of service for Clarke County School District. She currently works as the school secretary and bookkeeper at Howard B. Stroud Elementary.

“I enjoy getting to build relationships with them throughout their time here. It’s amazing to see some of our previous students who come in the door with their children who now attend the school. I am proud that they know they can come to me for assistance and guidance.” said Cunningham.

Cunningham and Spencer were recognized alongside building-level winners representing the district’s 21 schools at a banquet on Tuesday.

Related Content