© 2024 WUGA | University of Georgia
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Changes to local voting precinct boundary lines and new polling sites are in effect

Stephen Fowler
GPB News

Changes to local voting precinct boundary lines and new polling sites are in effect for the 2024 Presidential Preference Primary Election set for next Tuesday, March 12.

Residents’ voting districts, ballots and candidates are not changing- only the location at which some voters will vote in-person on Election Day.
The polling location changes are:
Voters of Precinct 1A, previously assigned to the Winterville Train Depot, will vote at the Winterville Cultural Center (371 N. Church Street).
Voters in a new precinct, Precinct 2C, will vote at the Miriam Moore Community Center (410 McKinley Drive).
Voters of Precinct 4A, previously assigned to ACCGov’s Multimodal Transportation Center, will vote at the Athens-Ben Epps Airport Community Room (1010 Ben Epps Drive).
Voters of Precinct 5D, previously assigned to ACCGov’s Fleet Management Office, will vote at the Girl Scouts of Historic Georgia Office (185 Newton Bridge Road).
Voters of Precinct 6B, previously assigned to Georgia Square Mall, will vote at the ACCGov Cooperative Extension Office (275 Cleveland Road).
Voters of the former Precinct 6D, previously assigned to Fire Station #4, are now part of Precinct 5A and will vote at Oglethorpe Avenue Elementary School (1150 Oglethorpe Avenue). Precinct 6D was removed as a precinct.
Voters of Precinct 7C, previously assigned to Fire Station #3, will vote at Milledge Avenue Baptist Church (1690 S. Milledge Avenue).

After four work sessions and two public hearings held in fall of 2023, The Board of Elections voted unanimously to approve the 7 new polling precincts and locations.

As the polling sites at the Georgia Square Mall and Transit Multimodal Transportation center needed relocating due to redevelopment, voting space challenges and parking issues, the board collaborated with the ACCGov Geospatial information Office to evaluate all of Athens-Clarke County’s territory and determined additional shifts to polling and precinct lines that are more centrally located and better balance the number of voters per precinct.

Maps of the updated precinct boundaries and polling locations can be found at www.accgov.com/elections.