Athens-Clarke County Commission Results

May 23, 2018

In the Athens-Clarke County District 1 Commissioner race, Patrick Davenport comfortably defeated Sharyn Dickerson by a margin of 58 to 42 percent. 

In the second district special election, Mariah Parker narrowly defeated Taylor Pass by a 50 to 49 margin; just 13 votes separated the two candidates. 

No such narrow victory in District 3, as Melissa Link defeated Tony Eubanks 71 to 29. 

In District 5, a runoff was avoided, with Tim Denson beating out the incumbent Jared Bailey and Danielle Benson with 51 percent of the vote. 

In District 7, Russell Edwards also avoided a runoff, winning with 56 percent of the vote. 

Finally, in District 9, Board of Education member Ovita Thornton knocked off Tommy Valentine 63 to 37 in an open-seat race.