© 2024 WUGA | University of Georgia
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Clash over new district map in Athens-Clarke

  Athens-Clarke County Commissioners clashed over a newly drawn commission district map at a special called session last night.

The commission voted 7-2 to approve the map, with Commissioners Mike Hamby and Allison Wright voting against and Commissioner Ovita Thornton abstaining, citing concerns that they had not received enough public input on the issue.
“This is the only option where our constituents have any say over the press. because if we don’t choose these maps, then state legislature will choose the maps. and the state legislature is not gonna have any public input on the maps they do," said District 5 Commissioner Tim Denson, advocating for the approval of the new map.
The final maps are up to the Georgia legislature and without a unanimous vote from the commission, the overwhelmingly conservative state lawmakers will have cover to gerrymander commission districts to be more conservative.

Jeanne Davis reports: