© 2022 WUGA | University of Georgia
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Local News

ACCPD Chief Spruill Steps Down, Interim Named

Athens-Clarke County Police Department

Athens-Clarke County Police Chief Cleveland Spruill retired from law enforcement and resigned from the department effective Thursday, March 10, 2022. County Manager Blaine Williams named Deputy Police Chief Jerry Saulters as Interim Police Chief until a permanent replacement is found after a national search. Saulters has been with the ACCPD since 1998.

Williams has also opened a survey asking residents for their input about what characteristics, qualities and priorities they believe the next chief should possess.

Visit www.accgov.com/policechief to provide feedback. You can also use printed forms available at City Hall in the Manager’s Office and at Police Headquarters on Lexington Road.

Comments are due by the end of the day Sunday, April 10.

Spruill retired after three years in Athens.