© 2022 WUGA | University of Georgia
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Coleman Drops out of Mayor's race

ACC Government

Athens now has five mayoral candidates in the upcoming primary election.

According to a notice from the Athens-Clarke County government, released Monday afternoon, Bennie Lee Coleman has officially withdrawn from the race.

Any votes cast for Coleman, whose name remains on the ballot, will not be counted. His departure leaves five candidates vying for the position of Mayor for Athens-Clarke County. They are Incumbent Mayor Kelly Girtz, Mara Zuniga, Pearl Hall, Fred Moorman, and MyKeisha Ross.

Alexia Ridley joined WUGA as Television and Radio News Anchor and Reporter in 2013. When WUGA TV concluded operations, she became the primary Reporter for WUGA Radio. Alexia came to Athens from Macon where she served as the News Director and show host for WGXA TV. She's a career journalist and Savannah native hailing from the University of Michigan. However, Alexia considers herself an honorary UGA DAWG!