© 2024 WUGA | University of Georgia
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

UGA faculty members Hu and Sellers named National Academy of Inventors Fellows

University of Georgia Provost S. Jack Hu and Professor Holly Sellers have been elected Fellows of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI), becoming the 15th and 16th UGA faculty members to receive this honor since 2012. This marks the fifth consecutive year that UGA has had faculty elected as NAI Fellows. NAI Fellows are recognized for their innovative contributions that have had a significant impact on the quality of life, economic development, and societal welfare.

Provost Hu, a senior vice president for academic affairs and a distinguished professor of engineering, has been acknowledged for his research in advanced manufacturing, resulting in patented technologies that enhance quality and productivity in the automotive industry. His inventions have contributed to cost reduction and improvement in manufacturing processes for lithium-ion batteries and vehicles, benefitting major automotive manufacturers. Hu's leadership has also promoted innovation and entrepreneurship ecosystems for faculty and students. In addition, he has received numerous accolades for his influential work in smart manufacturing.

Professor Sellers, based in the College of Veterinary Medicine and the Poultry Diagnostic and Research Center, specializes in clinical and molecular virology. She has been named UGA's Inventor of the Year and is recognized for her research leading to the development of diagnostics and vaccines for poultry diseases. Sellers' vaccine technologies have been licensed domestically and internationally, supporting the multibillion-dollar poultry industry. Her inventions have resulted in over $1.6 million in royalties to UGA. Beyond research, Sellers serves as a role model for female students and faculty members and is involved in initiatives supporting women in innovation and entrepreneurship.

Both Hu and Sellers will be honored at the 13th NAI Annual Conference on June 16, 2024, at the Research Triangle Park in Raleigh, N.C.

Related Content