© 2024 WUGA | University of Georgia
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

GA State Representatives and Senators Qualify to Run in Upcoming Primary

Candidates for both the state House and Senate have qualified to run in this year’s elections.

A number of incumbents have qualified to run for reelection, including Houston Gaines (R-Athens). He has competition, however, as Andrew Ferguson (D-Clarke County) has also qualified to run in the race for District 120.

In the Senate, Bill Cowsert, the incumbent Republican from Clarke County, has also qualified to run for reelection. Gareth Fenley (D-Good Hope), is set to run against him.

Meanwhile, several local Republicans are facing competition from members of their own party.

In the District 47 Senate race, Frank Ginn (R-Madison County), will compete against Ross Harvin (R-Jefferson).

State Representative Marcus Wiedhower (R-Watkinsville), will face off against John Grigsby (R-Watkinsville), in the upcoming primary. He will also run against a Democrat, Courtney Frisch of Clarke County, in the primary.