ACC Commission Votes to Approve New Commission District Maps

Nov 17, 2021


The Athens Clarke County Commission voted last night to approve new commission district maps to submit to the state government for approval.

The motion passed 6-3 with commissioners Mike Hamby, Ovita Thornton and Alison Wright opposing.

While Commissioner Wright objected to the map’s changes to her district, Commissioners Hamby and Thornton objected to the map-making process, which they said was rushed.

Hamby states: 

I know we need the census data, but certainly we could have had something on the ground, something being worked on, before we get to this last-minute proposal like this.

Final decisions on the maps, however, are up to state lawmakers, who are expected to take up redistricting after the new year.

Commissioners also unanimously passed a measure to use American Rescue Plan funds delivered through the state to help low-income households afford water bills.