Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Athens-Clarke County Election Results

The election results are in for Athens-Clarke County. With the Secretary of State’s Office reporting 100 percent of the votes in, long-time Sheriff Ira Edwards has been ousted by challenger John Q. Williams. Williams had just over 51 percent of the vote compared to Edward’s 48.9%. Edwards was seeking a 6th term.

Three incumbent commissioners were reelected, including one who died in an accidental fall this past weekend.  District 6 Commissioner Jerry NeSmith, who died this weekend, defeated challenger Jesse Houle with just over 57% of the vote.

In District 4, Commissioner Allison Wright beat challenger Michael Stapor. In District 10, Incumbent Mike Hamby, who has never before faced opposition.  defeated Knowa Johnson with more than 68 percent of the vote. Retired educator Carol Myers will replace District 8 Commissioner Andy Herod, who did not seek another term. Myers beat out two other candidates, attorney Kamau Hull and therapist Andrea Farnham.

In additon Kirrena Gallagher defeated Mary Bagby in the race for the District 2 seat on the Clarke County Board of Education.

Related Content