Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Dr. Marshall Shepherd named SEC Professor of the Year

UGA Geography Department

The annual designation comes from the SEC Provosts from among the 14 SEC Faculty Achievement Award recipients

Director of Atmospheric Sciences, Dr. J. Marshall Shepherd, was named SEC Professor of the Year yesterday. Shepherd is also a Georgia Athletic Association Distinguished Professor.

Shepherd, a leading international expert on weather and climate, holds a joint appointment in the University of Georgia Department of Geography and the College of Engineering. Other positions he’s held include the 2013 President of the American Meteorological Society, chair of the NASA Earth’s Sciences Advisory Committee and member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

With the Professor of the Year award also comes a $20,000 honorarium from the SEC. Shepherd is the second UGA professor to win this honor.

Shepherd’s research has been funded by NASA, the National Science Foundation and the U.S. Department of Energy. He hosts a show and podcast for The Weather Channel and has authored and co-authored multiple books and publications, including a children's book.

“Dr. Shepherd’s pioneering research has yielded insights that are reshaping society’s understanding of weather and climate and informing efforts to make communities more resilient,” said S. Jack Hu, the university’s senior vice president for academic affairs and provost, in a press release.