© 2022 WUGA | University of Georgia
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Local News

SEC officials could make changes to college football schedule

This week, representatives from the 14 Southeastern Conference universities are meeting to talk about possible developments to their football conference schedule.

Chief among the issues discussed was how the league would integrate Oklahoma and Texas when the two schools join the conference in 2025.

Right now the SEC is divided into two divisions. The East contains teams like Georgia and Florida, and the West includes LSU, Alabama and Auburn. Currently each team plays all six of the other schools in their division, two games against teams from the opposite division, and three additional non-conference games.

Two additional teams could mean either an increase in the total number of games each university plays or a decrease in the number of out of division or out of conference games that are scheduled each year.

An announcement is expected Friday afternoon at the earliest.