© 2024 WUGA | University of Georgia
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

South Georgia declared a disaster area after Hurricane Idalia damage

Damaged homes can be seen after Hurricane Idalia.
Saul Martinez for NPR
Damaged homes can be seen after Hurricane Idalia.

The federal government has declared part of Georgia a disaster area freeing up aid for recovery efforts in the aftermath of Hurricane Idalia. Gov. Brian Kemp formally submitted a request Wednesday for a disaster declaration covering 30 counties across south-central, southeastern, and coastal Georgia.

However, the declaration the president issued will apply to only three counties: Cook, Glynn, and Lowndes. Lowndes County sustained the most damage when Idalia tore through South Georgia last week, with losses estimated at more than $12.8 million. The federal assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help residents and businesses recover from the storm’s impacts.

Federal funding also is available to the state and eligible local governments as well as nonprofit organizations to help with debris removal and emergency protective measures in the affected counties, and for hazard mitigation statewide.

Related Content